These F-150s looked substantial and capable, but were also interestingly unassuming. Where modern trucks feel the need to shout about how tough they are and all the shit they can do, I feel like it’s trucks that look like this that are getting the work done behind the scenes, and would be embarrassed if you called them out. This generation of F-150 has styling that feels, compared to modern truck, strangely modest. There’s humility in this truck design, a certain agreeable practicality and freedom from pretention and bullshit, qualities that are just about extinct in modern trucks. These were so common that they once blended into the very grain of society. Now that there’s less of them, I think they stand out, at least a bit, though I bet they’d hate to know that. The Ford Maverick Pickup is supposed to be a “compact” pickup but my 1994 Toyota pickup that seats 5 (legally not comfortably) and has a 6ft bed is narrower than the Maverick by 5.9 inches (66.5 vs 72.4) and shorter than the Maverick by 6.6 inches (193.1 vs 199.7)! It does seem like Kei Trucks have stayed mostly as rational as they were in the early 90s but the tax laws that made Kei Trucks and Kei Cars worth it are said to be going away, and so will end the era of Practical Trucks. With how expensive, complex, and fragile modern Trucks are Honestly unless you need a 5th wheel hookup I’d just get a practical car that can tow the trailer you need. I don’t feel bad when a work trailer of mine gets scratched or dinged, I do feel bad if my car does. For my usage a Modern Toyota iQ remade as a hybrid with AWD-e would be able do 99% of the towing I need to do and it would be infinitely more practical for me to drive around when not towing than my pickup is. I just need said remade AWD-e Hybrid Toyota iQ to have a tow hitch (at least as an option), to come in a tire size you can get snow tires for in the US, to seat 3, and to turn as tightly or nearly as tightly as the original while getting 35+ MPG. The only reason I could see myself buying a new pickup is my old Truck has given up the ghost and I need a summer to acquire another old Truck then rebuild everything to my specs, and in that case I’d probably get an XL Maverick Hybrid and put tons of miles on it and tons of stuff in the bed, using it like a driven trailer. Just don’t actually try to buy one. It’s nearly impossible right now. https://www.flickr.com/photos/0867pnp/5419249419 Hey… ALLOW PICTURES IN COMMENTS PLEASE!!! https://anexos.portalclassicos.com/2009/08/449546_b888fd568577c0972a00511ae3d1a7f5.jpg

Cold Start  Was This Peak Rationality In Truck Design  - 95